Why I Wanted to Start This Blog…

I wanted to start a blog in order to document my progress with CrossFit and paleo. I don’t claim to be 100% paleo, and I love the saying, “I’m 100% paleo…80% of the time.” I am a huge foodie and enjoy a great meal and will break paleo for it, but most of the time I eat paleo. I don’t do “cheat days” because I find that an entire day of cheating makes me feel sick to my stomach…literally. And I no longer like to feel that way. A prime example that sticks out in my mind is when I first started paleo. My future brother-in-law was visting from San Diego and we decided to have Indian food for lunch. Yum! Except…everything we had contained some kind of carbohydrate–rice puffs, naan, basmati rice, etc. After gorging on that meal, I felt extremely bloated and just flat out sick. I wanted to vomit it all up. And I vowed that I didn’t want to subject myself to that kind of torture again.

To be quite honest, before starting CrossFit and paleo, I was having a dry spell in the kitchen. I didn’t know what to cook or bake for a really long time. The KitchenAid stand-up mixer that my fiancé had gifted me for Christmas two years ago sat unopened on top of our refrigerator, collecting dust. We ate out more than I cooked, and albeit, even though I chose “healthy” options (or so what I assumed to be healthy), I still felt sad that I wasn’t cooking as much and I truly missed it.

It wasn’t until I started CrossFit in May 2012 (yes, I am a newbie) and eating mostly paleo thereafter that I became inspired to get back in the kitchen! My fiancé has told me several times that we’ve saved money since I’ve started cooking at home again, which is a great plus. I value and appreciate our quarterly “fancy” dinners much more, now, but also cringe at how much we end up spending on them! But then again, I have to remind myself that it’s a reward for being so diligent in the kitchen, not resorting to eating out during almost every meal, and leading a much healthier lifestyle than before.

I’m not the best writer, but I hope this blog inspires others like other bloggers have inspired me. Petite AthlEAT, Nom Nom Paleo, PaleOMG, and Livin Paleo are just a few of the blogs that have inspired me to do this! I’m excited to start this journey and share it with everyone else, so please enjoy and check back often! Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Why I Wanted to Start This Blog…

  1. My experience starting out with Paleo is a lot like yours. I love that I’m back in the kitchen and really enjoy creating new meal ideas. Great first blog post! I’ll definitely be back to read your updates. 🙂

Leave a Reply

